Today with Dr. J. #23 - Naltrexone Can Help People Drink Less. Why Does No One Use It?



NaltrexoneReviews

people have reviewed this drug
4 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
5 Stars
Posted 35 months ago (12/11/2015)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for AlcoholismReport

Naltrexone took me from drinking 60 to 100 units of alcohol in a week to 21 or less units a week. What shocked me was that the reduction started the first day that I took it. If you have an AUD and you have tried traditional methods to quit drinking, please ask you care provider about it. This is the first thing that has worked for me.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 37 months ago (10/27/2015)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS; CFIDS; M.E.)Report

I took it for chronic fatigue syndrome but found it helped depression. I felt more alive. I did get memory loss, weird eye sight, and bladder problems. Very uncomfortable burning sensation

Report
5 Stars
Posted 38 months ago (10/6/2015)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Opioids (Narcotics) dependency / withdrawalReport

Report
5 Stars
Posted 38 months ago (9/24/2015)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for DepressionReport

I am actually taking Naltrexone 1 mg/day for OCD .I am 65 and developed a Tourette like syndrome of compulsively slapping my face.I tried full dose Naltrexone,24=50 per day..didn't work.Tried hypnosis, behavioral therapy, acupuncture, and Lithium.I also have chronic depression and was on Wellbutri,Cymbalta and xanax when this started but I had been in that regimen for years. I was taken off Wellbutrin and Cymbalta and out on Zoloft.Zoloft did not help my depression so it was stopped.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 76 months ago (8/1/2012)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Obsessive Compulsive DisorderReport

I take over 10 meds, so my rating for "no side effects" means "I did not experience any intolerable side effects which could be specifically attributed to naltrexone." I take 100 mg daily primarily treating trichotillomania and other related skin-picking OCD compulsions. It has greatly reduced the "unconscious" pulling - when I didn't realize I was doing it. It does nothing (and no medicine can or will) to stop me when I consciously decide to pull (something that feels necessary, soothing, agonizing and shameful all at once). If I interrupt my dosing schedule, I can see the negative effects. It also cut all desire for alcohol. I can enjoy a drink but I never feel the need for one. Note: In 2012, there have been sporadic shortages and this could continue.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 79 months ago (4/18/2012)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Fibromyalgia syndrome (FMS)Report

I'm in 4th mo. & 1 wk using LDN. I take 6.0 mg. each day 10 p.m. I was severely crippled & cognitively impaired before taking. I'm on good diet, supplements that support FM & my own deficiencies. I've practiced meditation to reduce anxiety for living with a chronic, debilitating illness, slacked off, & returned to it recently. LDN is enhancing what I do, gradually helping restore life to me. It's not a cure, but it certainly is helping. There are side effects, but mine have been no worse than the symptoms I experienced before taking LDN, and it is worth it to me to try. Benefits are gradually exceeding any fear I have had about trying a new drug and potentially experiencing a flare from the side effects, and the side effects themselves. I used a local compounding agency,pure Naltrexone powder with lactose filler, 1.5 mg. caps., & have experimented with dose beginning at 1.5 mg, going up 1.5 mg. ea. 3 wks to 6.0 mg. Useful to join online LDN groups for help.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 86 months ago (9/18/2011)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Multiple sclerosis - Secondary progressive (SPMS)Report

LDN, 3.0 or 4.5 MG; NOT Naltrexone 50 MG; for MS. No progression according to MRI since starting LDN, showed progression prior.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 95 months ago (1/1/2011)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Multiple sclerosis - Relapsing-remitting (RRMS)Report

contrary to the EH description naltrexone is NOT a narcotic drug.its an opiate antagonist that can block the effects of narcotics. it was the late dr bernard bahari who discovered the use of low dose naltrexone in MS. as an MS patient using LDN i have had nothing but positive results. the side effects i experienced were no different that what i endured with use of the nicotine patch. as LDN is still classified as an experimental treatment for MS the likelyhood is that insurance will not pay for it. however,with an average price for a 1 month supply at 25$-35$ that shouldnt be too much of a problem. you will also likely have trouble convincing a doctor to perscribe LDN. its not a conventional therapy,naltrexone is not fda approved for use treating MS and there is only scant clinical eveidence that it is effective. most evidence is anicdotal. as such doctors may be reluctant to use it.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 95 months ago (1/1/2011)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Multiple sclerosis - Relapsing-remitting (RRMS)Report

contrary to the EH description naltrexone is NOT a narcotic drug.its an opiate antagonist that can block the effects of narcotics. it was the late dr bernard bahari who discovered the use of low dose naltrexone in MS. as an MS patient using LDN i have had nothing but positive results. the side effects i experienced were no different that what i endured with use of the nicotine patch. as LDN is still classified as an experimental treatment for MS the likelyhood is that insurance will not pay for it. however,with an average price for a 1 month supply at 25$-35$ that shouldnt be too much of a problem. you will also likely have trouble convincing a doctor to perscribe LDN. its not a conventional therapy,naltrexone is not fda approved for use treating MS and there is only scant clinical eveidence that it is effective. most evidence is anicdotal. as such doctors may be reluctant to use it.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 107 months ago (1/4/2010)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Lyme DiseaseReport

I selected Lyme because cancer is not on the list!!! My wife takes LDN for Cancer NSCLC, she was given 2 to 6 months to live 16 months ago, and is now looking forward to remission. LDN is not a stand alone treatment. We use ALA and multi Vitamins. We set up our own database too to keep track of people on LDN and people can view all the entries at ldndatabase.com

Report
5 Stars
Posted 107 months ago (12/20/2009)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Fibromyalgia syndrome (FMS)Report

I was in the Stanford Phase II LDN for Fibromyalgia Clinical Trial in June of 2009. It took about 3 weeks before I started feeling better. Now I'm at Day 104 of taking 4.5 mg LDN post clinical trial and feel great about 90% of the time. I would recommend it to anyone with fibromyalgia or any chronic pain disease. LDN is the best thing I've ever tried for fibromyalgia. It heals the immune system, eases depression and anxiety, and best of all, takes away the pain! :D

Report
5 Stars
Posted 108 months ago (11/16/2009)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS; CFIDS; M.E.)Report

Low Dose Naltrexone. I had CFS 2007-2008, actually kind of believe that it was caused by coeliac disease (I get the sores and upset stomach if I eat gluten-food) which in turn caused malnutrition which (symptoms) I kept at bay by drinking and smoking too much... Naltrexone seems to calm down my stomach, improve all symptoms of CFS and makes me happier, simply put! I also take: Selegiline and Agomelatine

Report
5 Stars
Posted 109 months ago (10/19/2009)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for DepressionReport

Low dose Naltrexone (2.5 to 4.5 mg before bed) is the most effective depression treatment I've found, after trying dozens of others. If your depression is the result of endorphin deficiency syndrome (I suggest googling that term if you're unfamiliar) LDN is a way to get relief without all the side effects and other assorted baggage that comes with an opiate habit.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 109 months ago (10/8/2009)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Multiple sclerosis - Relapsing-remitting (RRMS)Report

I have been taking LDN since Jan 2007 after a nasty relapse that left me very fearful of the future. During both 2007 and 2008 I had no further relapses and slowly started getting better, experiancing greater energy and general reduction in old sympthoms. Thats the good news, unfortunately in 2009 I have had two attacks one in March and one last week which I am currently dealing with. To be honest I am surprised by these turn of events as I had prevously thought the LDN was the answer to my prayers. Consequently I have made enquires with the pharmacy and it appears they have chaged supplier this year - I may be clutching at straws but I have requested supply from the previous company and will see over the course of the next year how things go - I would be interested to hear if anybody has had a similar experiance with complete remission followed by relapses after starting LDN or if LDN from one source appears to be better than another?

Report
5 Stars
Posted 110 months ago (9/28/2009)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Generalized anxiety disorder (GAD)Report

I have GAD, Depersonalization, and recently diagnosed Bipolar II. In research I have done, I found that Naltrexone LDN 4.5mg can reduce or eliminate depersonalization, which was the main reason I wanted to try it. It is slightly helpful with depersonalization, but the biggest thing I noticed was a huge drop in my anxiety symptoms almost completely non existent. Everyone's brain is different and I'm guessing I'm probably one of the rare few it helps with anxiety, but if you've tried everything else like I had, this may help you. The only side effect I have noticed is an uncomfortable increase in depression which I'm going to try something for that soon.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 110 months ago (9/19/2009)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS; CFIDS; M.E.)Report

I have been taking LDN for three weeks, and though the side effects were bothersome in the beginning, the benefits are worth toughing it out for a while. The sdie effects I experienced included nausea, weakness, headaches and fatigue. These all went away. I now experience better sleep, more energy, NO pain, better mood, and a general feeling of well-being. The key to avoiding intense side effects is to start slow. I took 1.5 mg for two weeks, then upped the dose to 3.0.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 112 months ago (7/22/2009)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for LupusReport

I had lupus since 1976. Since starting LDN, i have had so much energy, no more lupus flares of fatigue. I feel like a normal person since taking 3 Months now, before, I was so fatigued at least 5 days of every month and it would hit whenever, couldn;t make plans for anything as I would end up cancelling if I GOT A FLARE OF DEBILITATING FATIGUE! my husband cannot believe how much better I am functioning with normal energy and strength. this has worked like a miracle drug for me. I was on steroids off and on for years and feel like i;m in remission now for the first time. it is worth the money.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 112 months ago (7/15/2009)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Multiple sclerosis - Secondary progressive (SPMS)Report

Since I started the LDN in August of 2004 I have not progressed at all. I feel abouut the same each day. Before I started I was really weak. No one could hardly hear me when I was talking on the phone or in person. I was losing balance all the time. Now it only happens once in a while. I started feeling a lot stronger as the days passed by. I will never go off of it.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 114 months ago (5/24/2009)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS; CFIDS; M.E.)Report

Have been taking LDN for CFS for only two weeks. After the first two or three nights the vivid dreams went away and I have been sleeping like a log. My energy has increased and I just feel better. I am not taking anything other than LDN and vitamins. It is early to tell, but so far it appears to be working for me and there are NO side effects. I recommend that it be tried if you are thinking about it.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 114 months ago (5/19/2009)

RatedNaltrexone (Vivitrol)for Opiate Agonist DependenceReport

i have struggled with opiate addiction for many years and now i am working on a year clean all thanks to the mental part of knowing the drugs would work so i just didnt use it was very simple one shot a month this is the best method because there is no physical dependence at all (suboxone/methodone) tried both and went right back when it ran out.SO my advice is give it a chance this give you time you need to see life is better to live clean.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: My experience overcoming alcoholism with Naltrexone "The Sinclair Method"

Naltrexone Reviews
Naltrexone Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Naltrexone Reviews pictures

Naltrexone Reviews forecast
Naltrexone Reviews recommend photo

Naltrexone Reviews pictures
Naltrexone Reviews pictures

Naltrexone Reviews Naltrexone Reviews new photo
Naltrexone Reviews new pics

pictures Naltrexone Reviews
foto Naltrexone Reviews

Watch Naltrexone Reviews video
Watch Naltrexone Reviews video

Communication on this topic: Naltrexone Reviews, naltrexone-reviews/
Communication on this topic: Naltrexone Reviews, naltrexone-reviews/ , naltrexone-reviews/

Related News


9 Reasons You May Need to Change Your Type 2 Diabetes Treatment
Morning vs. Afternoon Workouts
Oracles Larry Ellison dropped out of college after his adoptive mother died and held odd jobs for eight years
How to Motivate Yourself: 13 Simple Ways You Can Try Right Now
Stephen Hawking Passes Away Peacefully At The Age 76
12 Desserts That Actually Help You Lose Weight
How to Choose the Right Tree Service
The 5 Best Places To Buy Jeans On The High Street
Top 36 Home Remedies To Remove Tan Permanently
Oral Pressure When Flying
60 Mc Escher Tattoo Designs For Men – Graphic Artist Ink Ideas
How to Groom Your Kitten or Cat the First Time



Date: 06.12.2018, 16:06 / Views: 91444